Roundup · updated 19 Sept 2026
The best Shopify Sidekick prompt and skill libraries, compared
Six free places to find ready-made Sidekick prompts and skills, compared on size, format, one-click adding, verification, personalization and who runs them. Includes our own library, with the trade-offs stated.
By the MerchantSkill team at Pixelspiece Solutions, a Shopify Partner. Data as of 19 September 2026. MerchantSkill is our own product and is marked as such below.
Quick verdict
For sheer volume, SidekickSkills.com has by far the most prompts. For structured skills you can add in one click, personalize on the page and plan against the 25-slot limit, MerchantSkill is the only library built that way, with the honest caveat that our verification programme is young. ShopifySkills.com pioneered the one-click add but has a handful of skills; the Fudge and Craftshift articles are good short reads.
Sidekick is only as good as what you type into it, and a growing number of sites offer prompts you can paste. Since October 2025 Sidekick can also save prompts as skills, 25 per user, so the better libraries have started shipping structured skills rather than one-line prompts.
We compared six free libraries on the things that decide whether you will actually use them: how many prompts, how they are structured, whether you can add them to Sidekick without retyping, whether anyone has said they work, and what the site wants from you in return. One of the six, MerchantSkill, is ours. We have tried to describe the others by what we could see on their pages on the date above, and the matrix says "not verified" wherever we could not confirm something.
A note on trust: any prompt you add to Sidekick can create or change things in your store. Every library below is free and none requires an account, but read a skill before you add it, and prefer ones that ask for confirmation before changing data.
Side by side
As of 19 September 2026. A ⚠ cell means partial or not verified from public sources. Sources are listed at the end.
| Feature | MerchantSkillours | SidekickSkills.com | ShopifySkills.com | ShopifyPrompts.com | Fudge: Shopify Sidekick prompts cheatsheet | Craftshift: 30+ tested Sidekick prompts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Library size | 52 skills | 865+ prompts | 6 skills | 200+ prompts (site claim) | 50+ prompts | 30+ prompts |
| Categories | 13 | 35+ | — | not verified | 6 | 8 |
| Format | Structured skill: steps, output, guardrails | Prompt with bracket placeholders | Structured skill: steps, output | not verified | One-line prompts | Prompts |
| One-click Add to Sidekick | Yes | button shown, not verified | Yes | not seen | No | No |
| Copy button | Yes | Yes | not verified | not verified | No | No |
| Fill placeholders on the page | with a saved store profile | No | No | No | No | No |
| Verification status per skill | shown; none verified yet as of Sep 2026 | No | No | No | No | described as tested |
| What Sidekick can't do, per skill | Yes | No | No | site-wide list | No | |
| Packs for the 25-slot limit and a planner | Yes | No | No | No | No | No |
| Difficulty labels | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | |
| Raw markdown or llms.txt | Yes | markdown view | No | No | No | |
| Submit your own | with review and credit | No | No | No | No | |
| Signup required | No | No | No | (site claim) | No | No |
| Price | Free | Free | Free | Free | Free | Free |
| License for prompt text | CC0 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Run by, and what it promotes | Pixelspiece, Shopify apps | Avada, Shopify apps | Rijoy, a Shopify app | not stated | Fudge, storefront editor | Craftshift, Shopify apps |
| Last update we saw | Sep 2026 | Winter 2026 Edition note | not shown | not shown | 9 Mar 2026 | 6 May 2026 |
1. MerchantSkillour product
By Pixelspiece Solutions (this site) · Visit
MerchantSkill is a free library of Sidekick skills written in the same shape as Sidekick's own: a description of when to use it, numbered steps, an output format and guardrails. Every skill has a suggested shortcut, an Add to Sidekick button, a copy button, placeholders you fill on the page, and a verification status.
- 52 structured skills across 13 job categories, each with a summary of what Sidekick returns and a section on what it cannot do.
- One-click Add to Sidekick plus copy and a downloadable markdown file; a store profile prefills placeholders across every skill.
- Packs and a 25-slot planner built around Sidekick's limit, with shortcut clash detection.
- Skill text released under CC0; raw markdown endpoints and an llms.txt for AI assistants.
- Open submissions with review and credit.
- Smallest catalogue of the structured libraries and a fraction of SidekickSkills's volume.
- As of September 2026 no skill is yet marked verified; the status is shown honestly on every page while the verification programme runs.
- The one-click add relies on a link format Shopify has not documented; copy is always the fallback.
Best for: Merchants who want skills structured like Sidekick's own, added in one click and planned against the 25-slot limit.
2. SidekickSkills.com
By Avada · Visit
SidekickSkills is the largest library we found: 865 or more prompts across 35-plus categories, from affiliate programs to wholesale, each with a difficulty label, a copy button and bracketed placeholders. It is run by Avada, a Shopify app developer, and links to Avada's apps in the footer.
- By far the most prompts and the widest category coverage.
- Difficulty labels, a "Built for Sidekick" marker and a markdown view of each prompt.
- No signup, no paywall.
- Updated with a Winter 2026 Edition note at the time of our check.
- Prompts rather than structured skills: no explicit output format or guardrails in the examples we read.
- No verification status, sample output, packs or planner.
- A "Run in Sidekick" button is shown but we could not confirm it opens Sidekick.
- No submissions and no stated license for the prompt text.
Best for: Browsing for ideas across every corner of store operations.
3. ShopifySkills.com
By Rijoy Team · Visit
ShopifySkills presents a small set of structured skills, each with a "Try in Sidekick" button that opens the Shopify admin with the skill prefilled, plus usage counters. It promotes a companion Shopify app from the same developer.
- First site we saw with a working one-click path into Sidekick.
- Skills are written with numbered steps and output specifications.
- Usage counters give a sense of what others add.
- Six skills on the home page at the time of our check.
- No categories, search, verification status or submissions.
- No stated license.
Best for: Seeing how a structured skill and a one-click add work before building your own.
4. ShopifyPrompts.com
By Not stated on the pages we could read · Visit
ShopifyPrompts describes itself as a free library of 200-plus prompts for Sidekick organized by category, copy-and-paste with no signup. Our crawler could read only the home page, so most rows in the matrix for this site are marked not verified.
- Sizeable catalogue by its own description.
- No signup, according to the site.
- We could not verify categories, format, copy buttons, ownership or update dates.
- No visible verification or one-click add.
Best for: A second source of plain prompts once you have checked the pages yourself.
5. Fudge: Shopify Sidekick prompts cheatsheet
By Fudge · Visit
A well-organized article with 50-plus one-line prompts in six categories (analytics, discounts, Flow, content, B2B, operations), advice on writing better prompts, and a clear list of what Sidekick cannot do. Fudge sells a storefront editing tool and links to it throughout.
- Concise, current (updated March 2026) and honest about Sidekick's limits.
- Good prompt-writing advice: add timeframes, specify the output format.
- One-line prompts, not skills.
- No copy buttons, categories pages, verification or submissions.
Best for: A ten-minute read to understand what Sidekick can do before you pick a library.
6. Craftshift: 30+ tested Sidekick prompts
By Craftshift · Visit
An article of 30-plus prompts in eight categories that the author describes as tested, published in May 2026 by a Shopify app developer.
- Described as tested by the author.
- Practical categories and clear examples.
- An article, not a browsable library.
- No one-click add, placeholders on the page, or submissions.
Best for: Merchants who want a short, tested starter set.
Prompts versus skills
The single biggest difference between these libraries is not size but shape. A prompt is a sentence you paste: "Show me my top 10 products by revenue for the last 30 days." A skill is a small specification: when to use it, which data to read in what order, what the output must look like, and what it must never do without asking. Sidekick's own saved skills use that second shape, and so do the skills merchants export from it.
Prompts are fine for one-off questions. Skills are what you want for anything you will run every week, because they behave the same way each time and can be shared with a teammate who has never used Sidekick. MerchantSkill and ShopifySkills publish skills; SidekickSkills, Fudge and Craftshift publish prompts, some of them quite detailed.
Getting a skill into Sidekick
Sidekick lets you save a prompt by typing a slash and choosing Create new skill, then naming a shortcut and pasting the text. Every library works with that path. Two libraries go further with a button that opens your admin with the shortcut and text already filled in, so you only review and click Add. That is a real time saver at 25 skills, and it is the feature to look for if you plan to build a full set.
Because Shopify has not published the link format, both sites that use it keep a copy path as fallback. We do the same and re-check after each Shopify Edition.
What the sites want from you
None of the six charges money or asks for an email. Five of the six are run by companies that sell something to Shopify merchants: apps in four cases, a storefront editor in one. That is not a criticism, it is how free libraries get funded, including ours. It is worth knowing so you can read app recommendations with the right amount of salt. On MerchantSkill, app suggestions appear only in the "what Sidekick can't do" section of a skill and are labeled.
Our recommendation
Start with a structured library, keep a big prompt list for ideas, and read a skill before you add it.
- Most prompts to browse: SidekickSkills.com.
- Structured skills, one-click add, placeholders and a planner for the 25-slot limit: MerchantSkill.
- A working one-click add with a handful of skills: ShopifySkills.com.
- A short, current primer on what Sidekick can do: Fudge's cheatsheet, then Craftshift's tested set.
Frequently asked
Which library has the most Sidekick prompts?
SidekickSkills.com, with 865 or more prompts across 35-plus categories at the time of our check.
Are these prompts safe to add?
They are text, so they cannot harm your store on their own, but a prompt can instruct Sidekick to create or change things. Read it first and prefer skills that ask for confirmation. Shopify runs safety checks on skills shared by link.
Do any of these libraries cost money or need an account?
No. All six are free and none required a signup when we checked.
Why does MerchantSkill say its skills are not yet verified?
Because they have not yet been run on a live store by us. We would rather show the status than claim testing we have not done. Skills get the Verified label after three successful runs on a live store during the current Shopify Edition.
Can I submit my own skill?
On MerchantSkill, yes; it is reviewed, tested and published with credit under CC0. We did not find a submissions path on the other five.
How we compared
We read each site on 19 September 2026 and recorded what was visible: counts, categories, buttons, labels, ownership and update notes. We did not sign up for anything and did not run every prompt. Where a page could not be read or a feature could not be confirmed, the matrix says "not verified" rather than guessing.
MerchantSkill is our own library. We have listed its weaknesses in the same format as the others and welcome corrections about any site on this page at hello@merchantskill.com.
Sources
Related comparisons
Skills mentioned
Weekly Sales Review
One-screen weekly review: revenue, orders, AOV, top and declining products, and three actions for the week.
Brand Voice
Teaches Sidekick your tone, vocabulary, customer and no-go words once, so every other skill writes like your store.
Create a Discount Code
Creates a percentage or fixed discount code with dates, limits and eligibility in one go, after checking for clashes.
Low Stock Report
Lists products that will run out within a number of days at the current sales rate, with units left and units sold.